Country Profiles

Regional distribution

Cambodia is divided into 20 provinces and 4 municipalities. Provinces and municipalities have an administrative centre and are collectively divided into 185 districts and 1,609 communes.

Figure 2: Cattle density in Cambodia.

Source: Department of Animal Production and Health (2012)

Cattle are distributed throughout the country as shown in the cattle density map (number of cattle per square km2) in Figure 2. Cattle are highly concentrated in the rice growing provinces of southern Cambodia. This is reflected by the fact that cattle are predominantly kept for draught power, soil preparation and manure production for rice growing.

Takeo province in the southern part of the country has the largest and most dense cattle population at 106.0 cattle per km2, followed by Kep at 84.6 head per km2 and Prey Veng at 67.3head per km2 (Sitha, 2012). The provinces with lowest cattle densities are Mondulkiri at 1.0 head per km2 and Koh Kong at 0.6 head per km2.

Scroll Top